Temple Travel Hotel Flight Festival Culture Greetings Tour Diaries Store Special Offers

Mahanandi Temple

Mahanandi Temple

Mahanandi is a beautiful temple town and the existence of the famous Mahanandishwara Temple, with presiding deity of Lord Siva, makes this place religiously significant. This temple town is located at the east of Nallamala Hill ranges with nine temples of Nandi (Nandi- bull which is considered as the vehicle of Lord Siva) situated within a range of 15kms of radius.

Mahanandi Temple is an ancient temple dedicated to Lord Siva. The linga is unique because it is like a rough uncut rock, with two cavities. The priests here allow you to touch the Lord. There is a huge Nandi in front of the main shrine. This temple is unique in South India because the vimana (tower) over the linga is built in the North Indian style. The main gate of the temple faces west. There is a tank here, 60 sqft and 5 ft deep. The mystery is that no one knows how the water enters this tank.One only knows that the water is always the same level and completely crystal clear.

Mahanandi is one of the nine Nandis, surrounding which there are eight temple of Nandis. They are: Prathama Nandi situated near the Nandyal railway station, Naga Nandi is inside Anjaneya temple to the west of Nandyal, Soma Nandi which lies towards the east of Nandyal near Atmakur, Surya Nandi is located four miles east of Nandyal and six miles west of Mahanandi, Vishnu Nandi also known as Krishna Nandi is located about two miles from Mahanandi, Vinayaka Nandi is situated towards northwest of the main temple, Shiva Nandi is nearly 13kms from Nandyal and Garuda Nandi lies to the west of Mahanandi temple. All the nine temples of Nandiswara are equally sacred but of all these temples, Mahanandi receives more name and fame.



Kurnool,Andhra Pradesh

More info on the city

Kurnool is a district in the state of Andhra Pradesh in the southern part of India.Kurnool is located in the southern banks of rivers Handri and Tungabhadra, in the west-central part of Andhra Pradesh. It is the largest of the four districts of Andhra Pradesh while the other three are Kadapa, Anantapur and Chittore. 




All Fields are Mandatory

Contact no
Enquiry Type

Your enquiry has been submitted. We will get back to you shortly.